How Do I Sister?

Smack. Smack. Smack. Smack! holes in the wall with a hammer. Smack! the table while I’m writing. Smack! each other with pillows until someone hits too hard.

This is a noisy place, and I was just wondering- how on earth should I do this? I’m not at all saying I don’t like this big family, I was just wondering, does anyone else know how to do this sister thing? I still haven’t figured it out.

Currently I am sitting at the kitchen table writing, while in the background a child is practicing piano, pressing the keys so hard that it’s hard to hear anyone or anything else. He is the loudest one anyways. Another brother was at the table with me until I banished him to another table while I work, since he was demonstrating a magic trick to every sibling who walked by. It was cool, but it involved hitting the table as hard as possible three times in a row. After the third demonstration, the poor table must have felt rather bruised.

And on a daily basis I lose my nice big sister persona to a frustrated, tired, somewhat selfish human. I don’t have any insight, I just have the truth that I am not a patient person. I know that it is something to work on, and I have no cliche answer to how to be a better sister or person. But I can say, for sure, that this big family thing really tests me as a person, and shows me more daily of how much I am not measuring up to good standards.

On the other hand, the noise can be incredibly hilarious. For example, my little sister made up an alter-ego with a backstory whom she becomes several times throughout the day. She is very loud and very weird, but also very entertaining. Or my little brother who hammered holes into the wall once trying to find treasure (that one can go both ways, funny and destructive).

Yeah, life is awesome. Any other sisters (or brothers) out there want to share with me how they do it? Or any stories of your own? I’m not getting many views right now, but just in case, I’d love to hear from you! Leave a comment if you’d like. 🙂

give grace

Linds

6bde37dbecefcc24df5f3b7b83458b8c

2 thoughts on “How Do I Sister?

Leave a Reply

