Back For The New Year

Hey favorite readers! 2017 is upon us, and I finally sat down to write again. I could write a list of New Years resolutions, or I could recap the year, or I could try to make up an excuse for my lack of posts over the past few months, but I will try to avoid that.

Instead of a list of New Years resolutions, allow me to talk about the only one that really matters and that I absolutely know I want to commit to:

Live Grace

Now, y’all are probably tired of me harping on and on about grace. “It’s been months since she even posted, and she’s still on this whole grace thing!”

Yes, I sure am. But right now I’m going to elaborate on it a little more.

What do I mean by “live grace”? A reasonable question. When there is a concept or an idea that I want to incorporate into my life I need to come up with tangible ways to do so. I need to come up with practical things to do that will allow me to grow. You most likely need this too. It is not enough to say, “This year, I am going to be healthy.” If you want to be healthy, you have to be specific, like choosing to drink less soda, run more, eat less junk. Otherwise all that is there is the concept of health, but no real progress. This same concept applies to spiritual growth as well. That’s why it is so dangerous to pray for humility or patience. It doesn’t happen all at once, but in pieces each day, until you want so badly to stop but you have to trudge on, like the miles you must run to be healthy.

So when I say that my New Year’s resolution is to live grace, I mean to actively live it. I mean to walk in grace daily. To continue even when I want to give up and lie down. Living grace means that each day I am going to mess up, but when I do I’m going to remember God’s grace. It means that when someone commits a wrong against me, I am going to extend grace, no matter how much I don’t want to. It means that I choose grace. I choose to have faith that God’s grace covers a multitude of sins. I am choosing to go to bed at night after turning to God, even if I failed so much that I don’t see the point.

“But Linds, doesn’t that mean that you are going to be giving yourself an excuse to live in sin each day?”

No. When I walk in God’s grace, I am overcome by the overwhelming realization that I cannot be good enough to deserve it. When I realize that I am given grace anyway, freedom washes over me. When that washes over me, I can walk in thanksgiving, praise, and joy. And I can lean on God for the grace I need to obey, serve, and follow Him each day. One of the beauties of grace is choice. When one is given the choice and the grace to choose God, He brings about the means to serve Him, even in the midst of our fallenness.

What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin that grace may abound? By no means! How can we who died to sin still live in it?

For one who has died has been set free from sin.

Romans 6:1-2, 7

So this year I will live grace through faith in my Savior. His love covers a multitude of sin, and in my weakness He is strong. I am so thankful for this grace that continues to cover me day after day, month after month, and year after year. We don’t deserve it, y’all. BUT GOD chose to give it to us freely anyway. So no matter what this year holds, no matter what lows or highs are thrown at us, we can live each day by grace, taking it a little at a time.

Whatever your New Year’s resolutions hold, remember to press in to God’s grace through it all. We fail, we fall down, but He remains.

The saying is trustworthy, for:

If we have died with him, we will also live with him;

if we endure, we will also reign with him;

if we deny him, he also will deny us;

if we are faithless, he remains faithful-

for he cannot deny himself.

2 Timothy 2:11-13

So endure, being strengthened by His grace (2 Tim. 2:1).

One Last Note:

Never Miss a Monday! Some advice I saw regarding workouts. I am going to apply it to my blog. Expect a new post every Monday. I will be telling my friends or people I know that they are absolutely allowed to hold me to it. I know it’s been very sporadic up to now, but I am still here and I am still passionate about this project. So see y’all back here in a week!

As always, thanks for taking the time to read this.

give grace,

Linds

One thought on “Back For The New Year

Leave a Reply

