Don’t Look Down

I will lift my eyes to the Maker of the mountains I can’t climb, 

I will lift my eyes to the Calmer of the oceans raging wild

I will lift my eyes to the Healer of the hurt I hold inside

I will lift my eyes, lift my eyes to You. 

“I will lift my eyes” by Bebo Norman

I love this song. It is one of the songs that I can listen to on any given day and still need to hear it again. My faith is not nearly strong enough, and I need this constant reminder to lift my eyes.

Faith is such an amazing concept. It’s a simple word, and it gets thrown around so much that sometimes I wonder if we cease to wonder at this way in which God’s grace shines. Lately I’ve been going through the gospels (currently I’m in Mark), and it seems like every chapter has something to do with faith. “Is this really a surprise?”, you may ask me. No, it really isn’t. But I am a forgetful, worry-wart, type-A kind of person, so I need to remind myself of this daily. If faith is something that you just have in abundance, and you don’t need that reminder because you look at the Rockies and they just fall and everyone around you panics thinking it’s an earthquake, well then, that’s awesome! But as simple as the concept of faith is for me, I struggle with living in faith.

Recently I’ve been taking a dance class, and I have discovered that as much as I love it and the steps are easy, the most difficult part is me not being in control. I have to trust the guy I’m dancing with not to run me into a wall, or a mirror, or another person. I also have no idea what he’s going to do next, like, is he gonna spin me? No? Too late, I’m spinning anyway. And in the middle of all this, I just need to look up, look at whoever I’m dancing with, and not worry about what’s happening next, but trust. Oh, the depths of my trust and control issues! They cut deep.

I like to draw spiritual and emotional connections through school. I know.

Lately the theme of my life seems to be focused on faith and trust. God keeps bringing it up with me, in dance, in songs, in Scripture. So I want to spread that to you and encourage you to walk in faith every day. I will make myself sick when I don’t understand something, or when I’m scared, or worried, or just not trusting. It goes round my head for days nonstop. I can’t get it out. Not alone. If you are like me at all, I understand that it drives a person a little crazy. It drives us crazy because we are trying to take on a role that is not our own. We cannot possibly know what comes next, much less how to control it if we did.

When we find we are out of control, faith gives us the final step to that trust process. The first step is to stop trying to be in control of every detail. The second is to have faith that God will take care of it. To have faith that no matter what, God keeps His promises. He never fails. And we will see more things and greater things be accomplished through our faith than through our control. When you’re dancing with someone, you can accomplish harder things, more fun things, and just overall look a lot better when you get your role right. We are not the lead in our relationship with the Lord, He is.

I’m sorry if I’m being a bit repetitive in my posts, but this is my life right now. Constant reminders to let go and allow my faith to be bigger.

Ask for faith. Seek it, and know how far it can go. Faith in the Bible led to great things. Not to mention the greatest thing of all- eternal life. If we have faith that one day we will enter into an eternity after death with God, than it doesn’t matter as much that we be in control. Just the thought of God’s promise to us when we have faith in His Son is enough to give us faith for every little, temporary situation we encounter here.

His grace abounds to us, and we know that we can access that grace through our faith. Trust Him.

If this is you too, I encourage you to read Hebrews 11.

I will lift my eyes to the mountains;

From where shall my help come?

My help comes from the LORD,

Who made heaven and earth.

He will not allow your foot to slip;

He who keeps you will not slumber.

Psalm 121:1-3

give grace,

Linds

Leave a Reply

