Life Is Long. It Matters.

My father frequently reminds me that life is long. “Lots of people say life is short,” he says, “But it is actually quite long.” He reminds me of this because people so often search for instant success. They look for immediate gratification. They think that they need to travel and get everything on their bucket list done RIGHT NOW because life is short, so why waste it?

Why waste it, indeed.

Life is long. And if you assume it is short, every decision you make is a short-term decision. In the end, short-term living leads to a less purpose-driven life. Life is long, it’s ok to not know exactly what you are doing. But do something and make a plan. Even if the plan takes years.

For a long time I’ve thought about being a nurse-midwife. The plan for that means that I graduate as an RN. Work as an ER nurse. Maybe ICU next. Work on a labor and delivery floor for a while. Do crossover with postpartum and NICU. Attend and graduate from a nurse-midwifery program. How long will this take? Years. Quite a few of them. But, Lord willing, I have those years.

This is not only a post to talk about my career plans and my father’s advice, although those are two things I can certainly discuss at length if I want to. Instead, I want to talk about how much God has been impressing this concept upon me lately.

Last week I wrote a post about being worthy. Consider this a continuation of that.

In Sunday school we’ve been learning about 1 Corinthians. The church at Corinth was filled with believers who were wasting the life they had left on earth. The church was struggling with issues from within itself, of people at odds with one another, full of jealousy and strife.

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should not be disqualified.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27

In this life on earth, we are given the chance to be worthy. We are given the chance to exercise self-control, to make the decisions that will have lasting impact. This impact does not come from the flesh or fruit of our own labor, as in the example of the athlete. It comes from the Spirit of God at work in the life of a believer, and it produces lasting reward.

We are given so many opportunities to grow. We are given daily chances to walk in the Spirit, to extend grace to others, to serve others, and to use the gifts we have been given.

Life is long. But it’s the only chance we have to do any work on this earth. We only have this one. Eternity with God for the believer will be beyond wonderful. But the work we have to do here on this earth matters. Instead of living thinking that there isn’t enough time so you might as well just have fun, how about thinking that God has given us enough time to complete all the work we have to do in this life.

If this makes sense to you, if I’m expressing myself clearly enough, hopefully it impacts you the way that it impacts me. Because when I dwell on this, and when I study the Scriptures for instruction on how to live life RIGHT NOW, my perspective is radically shifted. Instead of merely living day to day, I see each day as a chance to live purposefully and walk in the Spirit. Of course, we must never lose sight of the end, when we shall be with Jesus in the presence of God completely. But we must also be careful not to waste our chance to grow and serve here, because it’s the only time we get on earth.

Remember, this is not something any of us can accomplish on our own strength in the flesh. It is something that can only be accomplished through God’s power in us by the Spirit. That is a huge relief. My own strength always falls short. But it is God’s power that never fails. Remember also:

But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly in my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

2 Corinthians 12:9

The Bible doesn’t promise that this life will always be easy. But we have the power and life of Christ to fall upon at all times (Matthew 11:28). And even if it’s not easy, we know that it is worth it.

give grace,

Linds

 

 

Leave a comment